Dumfiesshire Province Curling – Mansfield Trophy

The final of Mansfield Trophy was played recently between Johnstone and Waterbeck curling clubs. This trophy was first presented in 1907 by the 5th Earl of Mansfield to Dumfriesshire Province Curling. The final of this double rink competition was a very close match with some great shots from both clubs and it all came down to the last end with the score being in the favour of Johnstone by three shots, however, a score of five shots by the rink skipped by Jack Strawhorn proved decisive and Johnstone ran out winners by seventeen shots to ten. The winning Johnstone team was Jack Strawhorn (Skip) Craig Strawhorn, Arol Hyslop & Hayden Whitelaw who beat Gareth Owen (Skip), Ian Bickett, Stuart Grieve & Graham Anderson by eleven shots to three and Claire Sloan (Skip), Ewan Paul, Niall Duncanson & Lila Stewart who losed to Craig Davidson (Skip), Errin Davidson, Alistair Laird & Derek Plumbstead by seven shots to six.

Dave Stewart chair of the province committee oversaw the presentation, he thanked the sponsor KD Henderson, Funeral Directors before presenting the prizes to the winners and runners up.